Standards Unit logo
Types of signs 

Employers are required by The Health and Safety at Work Act (1975) to provide safety signs to alert people to potential dangers, and health and safety risks in the workplace.

Key points about safety signs:

  • There are five main types of safety sign in general use.
  • Each type of sign has a specific shape and colour to help with identification.
  • Any information on signs is in a standard layout and uses the minimum of words.

Select 'next' for information on the different types of signs. For more information about signs used in the activities see the glossary. You can access this by selecting the 'glossary' button.


  • quit
  • help
  • preferences